The Teeth (2)

Sharing is Caring


Molars are the bigger ones rest next to premolars’ teeth. These teeth consist of a large, flat surface with pointed edges that really help in chewing or grinding of food. Adults own 12 molar teeth, whereas children have only eight. The third set of molars are wisdom teeth, which usually appear between the ages of 17–21. They are position at the far corners of the jaw.

Wisdom Teeth: In total, there are four wisdom teeth, but most people have not all four wisdom teeth; they may stay unerupted in the bone or trapped under the gum i.e unable to come through correctly.

When wisdom teeth cannot come accurately or not in the correct position, the risk of infection or damage in surrounding areas develops.

Note: Mild pain when wisdom teeth start pushing through the gums is acceptable, but if you feel a lot of pain or suffering from swelling should consult a doctor. Also, it is OK to put them off if they cause infection, tooth decay, or pain.

Numbers of Teeth

Humans develop two sets of teeth: primary set and permanent one. Although some human babies are born with one or more teeth, these teeth are natal teeth.

Primary Teeth

Primary teeth are also known as baby, deciduous, or milk teeth. Children have 20 primary teeth, ten in the maxilla (upper jaw), and the remaining 10 in the mandible (lower jaw). The eruption of primary teeth started at about six months of age and completed at the age of 3 years. Later, when the child is 6 years of age, primary teeth are started replacing with permanent teeth.

Types of primary teeth and human ages to gain and lose them, the American Dental Association

Upper Jaw
Central incisor 8–12 months 6– 7 years
Lateral incisor 9–13 months 7–8 years
Canine 16–22 months 10–12 years
First molar 13–19 months 9–11 years
Second molar 25–33 months 10–12 years
Lower Jaw
Second molar 23–31 months 10–12 years
First molar 14–18 months 9–11 years
Canine 17–23 months 9–12 years
Lateral incisor 10–16 months 7–8 years
Central incisor 6–10 months 6–7 years

Permanent Teeth

Humans have 32 different permanent teeth, from which 16 reside in the maxilla (upper jaw), and the 16 is in the mandible (lower jaw). The eruption process of permanent teeth is started at the age of 6 and ended at age of 21.

Types of permanent teeth and human ages that they come through, the American Dental Association

Upper Jaw
Central incisor 7–8 years
Lateral incisor 8–9 years
Canine 11–12 years
First premolar 10–11 years
Second premolar 10–12 years
First molar 6–7 years
Second molar 12–13 years
Third molar or wisdom teeth 17–21 years
Lower Jaw
Third molar or wisdom teeth 17–21 years
Second molar 11–13 years
First molar 6–7 years
Second premolar 11–12 years
First premolar 10–12 years
Canine 9–10 years
Lateral incisor 7–8 years
Central incisor 6–7 years

To be cont. …

For Part 3 visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copy and paste this code to display the image on your site